Broughton Foundation Trust
At a glance
This funder does not accept unsolicited applications. The foundation chooses the organisations it funds itself.
Key takeaways
- The foundation says it does not accept unsolicited requests, so a cold application falls outside how it takes them; a small charity is better off first finding a link or referral than sending a letter in the hope of a reply.
- Its recorded grants are operating support for hospitals and health foundations, fire, police and sheriff services, children's advocacy and victim-support groups, counselling and rehabilitation, youth and childcare, and community bodies such as a food bank, library, senior centre, museum and symphony, so a charity in one of those fields has a fit to show, though the filing does not state a narrower charitable field.
- Most of its grant dollars go to organisations it has funded before, with 71% of its grant dollars to organisations in the filing going to organisations it had also funded in earlier filings, which suggests the foundation is relationship-led.
- About 8 in 10 of its 63 grants fall between $7,700 and $300,000, with a median of $100,000 and a largest grant of $890,000, so a request near $100,000 is typical rather than a ceiling.
- No geographic focus is stated, though the filing shows grants mainly in Texas, which is a pattern and not a rule about who may apply.
Overview
Broughton Foundation Trust is a US private foundation based in Dallas, TX.
What they fund
Profile based on the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings (TY2024, TY2023, TY2022) only: no website or other web source for the foundation was found. Every statement is checked against the filings. Sources read on 7 October 2026.
Priority Areas
The Broughton Foundation Trust's recorded grants provide operating support to organisations. Recipients include hospitals and health foundations; fire, police and sheriff services; children's advocacy and victim-support organisations; counselling and rehabilitation services; youth and childcare organisations; and community bodies such as a food bank, library, senior centre, museum and symphony. Its giving is concentrated in Texas, with a small number of grants reaching California. The available material does not state a narrower charitable field, a preferred type of applicant or a wider programme strategy; the filed purposes describe the grants simply as operations.
Geographic Focus
No geographic focus is stated; the filings show grants mainly in Texas.
How to apply
The foundation states that it does not accept unsolicited requests.
Application success factors
- Repeat giving: In its TY2024 filing, 71% of its grant dollars to organisations went to organisations it had also funded in its TY2022 or TY2023 filing.
- Grant size: Across its TY2022, TY2023 and TY2024 filings, half of its 63 grants to organisations were $100,000 or less.
Where grants go
From grants to organisations in the foundation’s filings for tax years 2022–2024.
Grant dollars by state
- The largest single recipient received 15% of grant dollars to organisations.
- In tax year 2024, 71% of grant dollars went to organisations Broughton Foundation Trust had funded in earlier filings.
- No grants were paid directly to organisations outside the US.
Grants
How much do they typically give?
Share of 22 grants in tax year 2024 by size
Median $100k (tax year 2024)
The largest grants to organisations in the foundation’s latest filing:
- Howard County Volunteer Fire Department · Operations$890,0002024 tax year
- YMCA Teen Center · Operations$500,0002024 tax year
- Children's Medical Center · Operations$500,0002024 tax year
- UMC Foundation · Operations$300,0002024 tax year
- Cook Children's Health Foundation · Operations$250,0002024 tax year
- Martin County Hospital District · Operations$250,0002024 tax year
- West Texas Rehabilitation Center · Operations$125,0002024 tax year
- Westside Community Daycare Center · Operations$120,0002024 tax year
Grants to organisations listed in the foundation’s Form 990-PF filings. Grants to individuals are not shown.
Officers and directors
- John Marshall — Trustee
- John Grant — Trustee
- Clifton Talbot — Trustee
- Jim Weaver — Trustee
- Jean Broughton — Trustee
From the latest Form 990-PF filing
3 years of tax filings
| Year | Total expenses | Grants paid | Assets | Filing document |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 tax year | $5,326,725 | $2,205,808 | $52,271,376 | Filing for 2022 tax year |
| 2023 tax year | $4,047,989 | $2,635,922 | $68,574,568 | Filing for 2023 tax year |
| 2024 tax year | $4,553,001 | $3,844,454 | $93,618,931 | Filing for 2024 tax year |
Figures from the foundation’s IRS Form 990-PF filings. Assets are at fair market value at year end. The document icon links to each year’s filing on ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer.
Sources
🎯 You've done the research. Now write an application they can't refuse.
Hinchilla combines funder's specific priorities with your organisation's past successful grants and AI analysis of what reviewers want to see.
Data privacy and security by default
Your organisation's past successful grants and experience
AI analysis of what reviewers want to see
A compelling draft application in 10 minutes instead of 10 hours
Spotted something that needs correcting? Let us know
At a glance

Applying to Broughton Foundation Trust?
Hinchilla drafts your answers around this funder's priorities, using your organisation's own documents.
No credit card required
Contact
- (432) 935-8597
- Dallas, TX

Applying to Broughton Foundation Trust?
Hinchilla drafts your answers around this funder's priorities, using your organisation's own documents.
No credit card required
Contact
- (432) 935-8597
- Dallas, TX