P M Allen Family Foundation

Private foundation · EIN 46-2692811 · since 2013·United States·Updated 13 October 2026

At a glance

$10.6M
Annual giving, 2024 tax year
From the Form 990-PF filing
$3M to $7.7M
Grant range
From grants in the 990-PF filings
$5.3M
Typical grant (median)
2 grants in the latest filing
Invitation only
Unsolicited applications are not accepted

This funder does not accept unsolicited applications. The foundation chooses the organisations it funds itself.

Key takeaways

  • The filing says the foundation gives only to preselected organisations and does not accept unsolicited requests, so a small charity should not send a cold proposal, and the filing gives no application instructions.
  • Its recorded grants all went to organisations working as foundations or grantmaking intermediaries, not to a service field or beneficiary group, so a charity that works directly with people is unlikely to match its record.
  • Its typical grants fall between $3,000,000 and $7,700,000, with a median of about $5,250,000, which is far above what a small nonprofit would ask; that band is typical, not a ceiling.
  • All of its grant dollars to organisations in the latest filing went to groups it had funded in an earlier filing, so access depends on relationships rather than open competition.
  • No geographic focus is stated, and the filing shows grants across the United States, so location alone should not rule you out.

Overview

P M Allen Family Foundation is a US private foundation based in Hanover, NH.

What they fund

Profile based on the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings (TY2024, TY2023, TY2022) only: no website or other web source for the foundation was found. Every statement is checked against the filings. Sources read on 7 October 2026.

Priority Areas

The foundation's recorded grants support the general operations of charitable foundations and philanthropic grantmaking intermediaries. The grants identified in the filings went to organisations working as foundations or charitable giving intermediaries, rather than naming a particular service field or beneficiary group. The filing describes the funded purposes as general operations and does not state a more specific charitable priority, beneficiary population or grantmaking geography. Its recorded giving is therefore characterised by operating support for intermediary organisations, rather than by a stated programme area or direct-service focus.

Themes

From its grants, not stated by the foundation:

  • Grantmaking intermediaries

Geographic Focus

No geographic focus is stated; the filings show grants spread across the United States.

How to apply

The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organisations and does not accept unsolicited requests; the filing gives no application instructions.

Application success factors

  • Repeat giving: In its TY2024 filing, 100% of its grant dollars to organisations went to organisations it had also funded in its TY2022 or TY2023 filing.
  • Grant size: Across its TY2022, TY2023 and TY2024 filings, half of its 7 grants to organisations were about $5,250,000 or less.

Where grants go

From grants to organisations in the foundation’s filings for tax years 2022–2024.

Grant dollars by state

Massachusetts46%
Ohio46%
Virginia8%
  • The largest single recipient received 46% of grant dollars to organisations.
  • In tax year 2024, 100% of grant dollars went to organisations P M Allen Family Foundation had funded in earlier filings.
  • No grants were paid directly to organisations outside the US.
  • 100% of grant dollars went to intermediaries that regrant to other organisations.

Grants

2 grants in the latest filing analysed · median $5.3M

The largest grants to organisations in the foundation’s latest filing:

  • Boston Foundation · General operations
    $5,400,0002024 tax year
  • Fidelity Charitable · General operations
    $5,225,0002024 tax year

Grants to organisations listed in the foundation’s Form 990-PF filings. Grants to individuals are not shown.

Officers and directors

  • Brian M Feldman — Director
  • Frank M Lesher — Director / Board Chair
  • Jennifer Murtie — Director / Investment Committee Chair

From the latest Form 990-PF filing

3 years of tax filings

YearTotal expensesGrants paidAssetsFiling document
2022 tax year$12,240,176$11,700,000$110,601,400Filing for 2022 tax year
2023 tax year$15,825,067$15,700,000$109,350,339Filing for 2023 tax year
2024 tax year$10,792,883$10,625,000$107,957,175Filing for 2024 tax year

Figures from the foundation’s IRS Form 990-PF filings. Assets are at fair market value at year end. The document icon links to each year’s filing on ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer.

Sources

🎯 You've done the research. Now write an application they can't refuse.

Hinchilla combines funder's specific priorities with your organisation's past successful grants and AI analysis of what reviewers want to see.

✓

Data privacy and security by default

✓

Your organisation's past successful grants and experience

✓

AI analysis of what reviewers want to see

✓

A compelling draft application in 10 minutes instead of 10 hours

Spotted something that needs correcting? Let us know

Helpful Hinchilla

Applying to P M Allen Family Foundation?

Hinchilla drafts your answers around this funder's priorities, using your organisation's own documents.

Start your 4-week free trial

No credit card required

Contact

  • Hanover, NH