Susan J Glazer Foundation
At a glance
This funder does not accept unsolicited applications. The foundation chooses the organisations it funds itself.
Key takeaways
- The filing says this foundation accepts no unsolicited requests and limits its contributions to preselected charitable organisations, so do not send it a cold application.
- Its grants point to education and health and human services, but the foundation does not state these as its focus, so check that your work fits before any contact.
- If you already have a connection, aim near its typical grant: about 8 in 10 of its grants to organisations fall between $1,000 and $100,000, and half of its 48 grants were $15,000 or less, with a median of $15,000.
- The largest grant was about $695,000, so the band is not a ceiling, but a modest request is the more realistic fit.
- Most of its grant dollars (69%) went to organisations it had funded in earlier filings, so this is a relationship-led funder, and the filing gives no application steps or timetable.
Overview
Susan J Glazer Foundation is a US private foundation based in Des Moines, IA.
What they fund
Profile based on the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings (TY2024, TY2023, TY2022) only: no website or other web source for the foundation was found. Every statement is checked against the filings. Sources read on 7 October 2026.
Priority Areas
Across its recorded giving, education is the main purpose, with a substantial additional share for health and human services. Its grantees include universities, youth organisations and cultural organisations, as well as hospitals, hospices and other health-support organisations. Most grants by value have gone to organisations in Iowa and Oklahoma, with a smaller share in California and a further grant in North Carolina. The foundation limits contributions to preselected charitable organisations and does not accept unsolicited requests; its filings give no further application steps or detailed eligibility criteria.
Themes
From its grants, not stated by the foundation:
- Education
- Health and human services
Geographic Focus
No geographic focus is stated; the filings show grants mainly in Iowa, Oklahoma and California.
How to apply
Contributions are limited to preselected charitable organisations; unsolicited requests are not accepted. The filing gives no further application steps.
Application success factors
- Repeat giving: In its TY2024 filing, 69% of its grant dollars to organisations went to organisations it had also funded in its TY2022 or TY2023 filing.
- Grant size: Across its TY2022, TY2023 and TY2024 filings, half of its 48 grants to organisations were $15,000 or less.
Where grants go
From grants to organisations in the foundation’s filings for tax years 2022–2024.
Grant dollars by state
- The largest single recipient received 38% of grant dollars to organisations.
- In tax year 2024, 69% of grant dollars went to organisations Susan J Glazer Foundation had funded in earlier filings.
- No grants were paid directly to organisations outside the US.
- <1% of grant dollars went to intermediaries that regrant to other organisations.
Grants
How much do they typically give?
Share of 16 grants in tax year 2024 by size
Median $37,500 (tax year 2024)
The largest grants to organisations in the foundation’s latest filing:
- University of Oklahoma Foundation · Educational$692,7542024 tax year
- Ellipsis · Health human services$100,0002024 tax year
- Drake University · Educational$50,5002024 tax year
- Blank Childrens Hospital · Health human services$50,0002024 tax year
- Sooner Club OU Foundation · Educational$50,0002024 tax year
- Variety Club · Educational$50,0002024 tax year
- Eisenhower Foundation · Health human services$50,0002024 tax year
- Anawim · Educational$50,0002024 tax year
Grants to organisations listed in the foundation’s Form 990-PF filings. Grants to individuals are not shown.
Officers and directors
- Susan J Glazer Burt — President
From the latest Form 990-PF filing
3 years of tax filings
| Year | Total expenses | Grants paid | Assets | Filing document |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 tax year | $765,587 | $758,271 | $6,441,763 | Filing for 2022 tax year |
| 2023 tax year | $774,710 | $706,875 | $6,336,473 | Filing for 2023 tax year |
| 2024 tax year | $1,245,554 | $1,168,754 | $6,376,775 | Filing for 2024 tax year |
Figures from the foundation’s IRS Form 990-PF filings. Assets are at fair market value at year end. The document icon links to each year’s filing on ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer.
Sources
🎯 You've done the research. Now write an application they can't refuse.
Hinchilla combines funder's specific priorities with your organisation's past successful grants and AI analysis of what reviewers want to see.
Data privacy and security by default
Your organisation's past successful grants and experience
AI analysis of what reviewers want to see
A compelling draft application in 10 minutes instead of 10 hours
Spotted something that needs correcting? Let us know
At a glance

Applying to Susan J Glazer Foundation?
Hinchilla drafts your answers around this funder's priorities, using your organisation's own documents.
No credit card required
Contact
- Des Moines, IA

Applying to Susan J Glazer Foundation?
Hinchilla drafts your answers around this funder's priorities, using your organisation's own documents.
No credit card required
Contact
- Des Moines, IA